Dance Forms in India

India is well-known for its rich cultural heritage. Diversification is the nation's identity. Indian dance is one the most treasured identities in our culture.

Famous dance forms in India can broadly be divided into two categories: folk and classical.

Famous dance forms in India

These dance forms were derived from various parts of India according to the local tradition.

Indian Dance Forms

Folk dance and classical dance are the two main forms of dance in India. The main difference between folk and classical dance is their origin.

The Natya Shastra has a deep relationship with classical dance. It lists the specific characteristics of each form of Classical Dance.

Folk dance is a form of folk dancing that was born out of local traditions in the state, region, or ethnic group.

Classical Dances in India

Natya Shastra is the source of classical dance. According to scholars and sources, there are eight classical dance forms in India.

The Cultural Ministry of India included Chhau in the list of classical dancing forms, which now includes 9 varieties.

Below are the 8 essential technicalities of classical dance.

  • Shringar: Love

  • Hasya: Humorous

  • Karuna: Sorrow

  • Raudra: Anger

  • Veer: Heroism

  • Bhayanak: Fear

  • Disgusting Bibhats

  • Adbhoot: Wonder

India Folk Dances

Folk dances are a symbol of India's culture and tradition.

Folk dances are performed at the celebrations of the community, such as weddings, births, and festivals.

There are many types of folk dances in India. Below is a list of Indian Folk Dances:

  • Kathak – North India

  • Gaudiya Nritya – West Bengal.

  • Kathakali – Kerala

  • Manipuri – Manipur.

  • Odissi – Orissa.

  • Kuchipudi – Andhra Pradesh

These are the most popular Dance forms in India, and their origin. The origin is what makes folk and classical dance different.